​Neat - The Neat Experience! Transaction Itemization in Neat

Transaction Itemization in Neat

Check out the list of FAQs and How-Tos below to learn all about transaction itemization in Neat!

 

Itemization FAQs

What is transaction itemization?

With transaction itemization, you can categorize, split, add and edit line items on matched transactions.

 

How do I itemize a transaction?

  1. Open the transaction you want to itemize.
  2. Scroll down in the transaction details to the Itemization section.
    Please Note: By default, all transactions have one line item that can not be deleted.
  3. Click Create Line Item.
  4. In the Itemization Edit view, fill in your line item details. When your done click Save / Return.
    Please Note: If you click the 'Save' button at the bottom left corner of the transaction window instead of 'Save / Return', you will get an error message stating you have a pending line item.

    You must click Save / Return to save any line item you create or edit before clicking the 'Save' button to save the transaction.

  5. You will now see multiple line items under itemization.


    Please Note: If your line item amounts don't add up to the total amount of the transaction, then you will see red text stating that the line item balance is over or under the transaction total amount.

    You must edit the line items so that they equal the transaction total amount before saving the transaction.

    If you attempt to save the transaction by clicking 'Save' in the bottom left corner, then you will get an error message stating The sum of all line items doesn't match the current transaction amount.
  6. When you are done balancing your line items, so that the sum of your line items match the transaction total amount, click Save to save your transaction.
    Please Note: Transactions with multiple line items will show a category of Multiple.


    You can hover over 'Multiple' to preview all the line item categories.

 

How do I edit a line itemization?

  1. In the transaction view, click on the line you want to edit.
  2. The Itemization Edit view will open. Edit the line item as you desire, then click Save / Return to save your changes.
    Please Note: If you click the 'Save' button at the bottom left corner of the transaction window instead of 'Save / Return', you will get an error message stating you have a pending line item.

    You must click Save / Return to save any line item you edit before clicking the 'Save' button to save the transaction.
  3. Click Save to save your transaction.

 

How do I delete a line itemization?

  1. Place a checkmark in front of the line item you want to delete. Then click Delete.
    Please Note: You cannot delete ALL the line items, there must always be at least 1 line item under 'Itemization'.
  2. The line item you selected will be deleted. This may cause the line item balance to become unbalanced.
    Please Note: If your line item amounts don't add up to the total amount of the transaction, then you will see red text stating that the line item balance is over or under the transaction total amount.

    You must edit the line items so that they equal the transaction total amount before saving the transaction.

    If you attempt to save the transaction by clicking 'Save' in the bottom left corner, then you will get an error message stating The sum of all line items doesn't match the current transaction amount.
  3. Once your line items are balanced, click Save to save your transaction.

 

Why can't I itemize items in my cabinet?

At this time, you can only itemize transactions in the transactions tab. The ability to itemize items in your cabinet is being considered for future versions. Check out our Ideas Portal to see what we're working on!

 

Why is the transaction tab grayed out?

The transactions tab may be grayed out for a couple of reasons:

  • You may be logged into a shared account that you are not the owner of. If you are an invited user to an account, you will not be able to view the transactions tab of the owner's account for security purposes. In the future, Neat will have a 'user roles & permissions' feature, that will allow account owners to give their invited users access to this tab if needed.
  • The transaction features may not be available to you due to your plan type. Users who registered with Neat before October 15th, 2019 will need to upgrade their plan to gain access to the transaction features. Existing users can trial the new features first before upgrading their plan, by clicking the transactions tab and choosing Start 15 Day Trial.

How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs

Powered by HelpDocs